Bonus Commentary: Fall 2015 titles that didn’t make the cut

Hi again, people.

It pains me to admit it, but I’m just one man, helming an entire blog and its gigantic promises of entertaining and insightful content. There’s also the issue of me being a relative new-comer to the world of anime and Japanese media (a disease; so to say; that infected me, whilst I’m still weak from a heavy dosage of year 12 finals exams and university enrolments at the tail end of 2014). There will be a life story upload on that, on a later date.

12086977_1058317377514876_1986154820_n
(Actually I do…this Senpai NEEDS to get noticed)

Like I said, Fall 2015 is a season dominated by sequels of well-known franchises, many of which I’ve never consumed before in my life. Add the ever-present issue of my personal tastes (another blog topic potentially in the pipeline), there’s bound to be popular titles that I failed to follow and analyse, or dropped from this season. So I figure I will add a little commentary on some possibly notable shows, that I didn’t cover in my initial Fall 2015 overview.

But first, some disclaimers: By no accounts, were all these shows avoided, missed or dropped because I thought them to be either shit to begin with, or not worth my precious time on this planet (I don’t think that way). The more likely reasons are of course, stated above.

Well then, without further ado, let’s punch in some letters.


The Asterisk War | Gakusen Toshi Asterisk

Episodes watched: 0

Current status: MISSED

awargal

If you’ve read my segment on Chivalry of a Failed Knight, then you would be aware, that this title got the short end of the stick when the time came for me to choose a battle academy anime to follow this season. I’ve never been a fan of this genre of anime: the idea of students being dicks to each other; whilst true in real life (personal experience); were pushed to the extreme end of its worst manifestations in shows like these, something I don’t find pleasant to watch on screen. So, in order to convince me, something else is needed to spur me on to give a show of this genre a chance.

Whilst Chivalry of a Failed Knight provided me with a slew of interesting ideas, including a twist on the usual ‘talent vs. hard work’ theme and a main character duo that doesn’t beat around the bush, when it comes to their respective romantic relationships, The Asterisk War sticks to the painfully normal route, as far as I’m aware. My decision to not follow this title is not definite, as it is very much still on my radar, and it is my hope that somewhere along the line, I’ll find the time to watch this. Hopefully.(Pfftt, after trudging my way through what…200 titles on my backlog, some with 100+ episodes…who invented this saying of ‘I have nothing else to watch’?)

Garo: Crimson Moon | Garo: Guren no Tsuki

Episodes watched: 0

Current status: On hold for POSSIBLE consumption

garo-guren-no-tsuki-poster-promocional-v2

I am aware of this title not being a direct sequel to 2014’s Garo: Honoo no Kokuin. I am also aware of the uncanny production value drops that MAPPA suffered thus far. However, as I am still yet to watch the original, this show will have to wait for its turn in the spotlight, as I prefer not watching shows in reverse release order. I may even have to wait until the production woes are fixed during home video release to properly consume this.

Nevertheless, the swords-and-shield fantasy premise of this franchise very much intrigues me.

Haikyuu!! 2

Episodes watched: 0

Current Status: On hold for INEVITABLE consumption

A16660-3090851760_1443553996

Add this to my cue along with its unwatched prequel. Actually…maybe I should get around to following the sports genre more.

Apparently, this title’s first season was good enough to warrant another round. Should be interesting…

During my entire first year of following anime (coincidently, that would be 2015), the only exposure to sports anime for me were a few episodes of Chihayafuru and KyoAni’s extravagantly awesome Free! (and yes, I am very much a straight male). So far, both series are very enjoyable and intriguing, so perhaps Haikyuu will earn its ticket to my watchlist as one of the first sports titles I ever watch.

Heavy Object

Episodes watched: 05

Current Status: FOLLOWING WEEKLY

A16322-2957703620_1443425021

Wait…so I AM watching this?! Huh.

Long story short: The disappointment of not having a decent mecha show to follow this season (after the temporary fallout with Comet Lucifer and my hopefully good choice of not dropping it) and being intrigued by the fact that the light novel author also wrote the Magical Index series, I decided to check out this title, barely a day after Part II of my season overview was published. Two hours later, I found myself laughing to the point of breathlessness over five episodes of dialogic gold. (Is this a correct use of the term ‘dialogic’?)

Needless to say, I will be continue following this show, whose so far repetitive and short arcs were entertaining enough, but holds much more potential with additional world building and providing political intrigue behind the conflicts.

Oh, in regards to my remark about not having a decent mecha show to follow…I have a good reason for avoiding Gundam this season, as I will explain in this publication. Same goes for Soukyuu no Fafner.

Seraph of the End: Battle in Nagoya | Owari no Seraph: Nagoya Kessen-hen

Episodes watched: 0

Current Status: AVOIDING

76632l

And this is where my personal tastes started to kick in: I never liked vampires. Don’t get me wrong, the concepts of the vampire’s strengths and weaknesses being linked to the ideas of Christianity, and the richness of this mystical being’s lore and legends across different cultures are fascinating to follow, but it’s more to do with my mental distaste against the idea of violence involving human necks and blood. Weird phobia, I know.

I’m mostly fine, watching stylish portrayal of violence involving severing limbs or blown up body parts, but specific limitations apply to my tolerance of violence on screen: anything involving on screen infliction of injuries or torture against the eyes and the neck. So slashing necks or poking out eyes are big ‘no no’s in my book.

Then there’s the issue of the story’s formulaic nature to begin with: a story of a rivalry between friends and worldviews in a dystopic hellhole, where it’s vampires versus the last remnants of humanity.

Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans | Kidou Senshi Gundam: Tekketsu no Orphans

Episodes watched: 0

Current Status: On hold for INEVITABLE consumption

75879l

Never watched Gundam. Simple enough reason to have missed this one.

Whilst some of my sources have confirmed, that as a standalone story, no backstory is needed to watch this particular title, I decided to hold back until I’ve finished a few older entries.

My relationship with Gundam have so far been an intense internal debate of which titles to watch and in which order. With my decision to only choose a few titles from this gigantic franchise, I’ve come up with this watch order:

Gundam SEED

Gundam SEED Destiny (the oddball of the lot, apparently everyone hated this one…whatever)

Turn A Gundam

Gundam 00

Gundam Unicorn

MAYBE Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans (Depends on scheduling)

Going to be loooonnnnngggg day at work.

Owarimonogatari

Episodes watched: 0

Current Status: On hold for INEVITABLE consumption

coimkemveaaotv8_jpg-large

Haven’t watched the Monogatari series, yet.

But something tells me that time is coming REAL soon. The bizarre situation of seeing the popularity of this franchise intrigues me enough to go see what the fuzz’s about.


And this just about wraps it up! Any comments on my watch order of Gundam, words of wisdom about my phobia of neck and eye wounds? Light it up, below!

 

Leave a Reply

